Belarus election results rejected by EU countries

Belarus election results rejected by EU countries

The heads of EU member states and governments have made a joint decision not to recognise the results of the recent Belarusian presidential election, where the sixth term in office was granted no Alexander Lukashenko.

In an emergency video summit on Wednesday, August 19, EU leaders agreed and announced that they did not recognize the results of the disputed presidential elections in Belarus.

As to the type of sanctions, the restrictive measures are to include EU travel bans and asset freezes. In 2016, the EU partially lifted previous sanctions imposed over Lukashenko’s human rights record.

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen stated on Wednesday the EU would give EUR 53 million initially earmarked for the Belarusian government to civil society in the country, victims of the state’s crackdown on protesters, and the country’s measures to fight the COVID-19 pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: